Reviews: What People Have to Say about Annie B’s Spanish Kitchen

We’re really proud of what we do, and how we do it … and results are measured by feedback. Here you can read just a few of the comments we have received recently.

Cleaning fish in class

Duncan, Josie, Ed & Will – 04/07/2014

Dear Annie
, We have had a fabulous few days in Vejer. Your cooking classes were outstanding. You have so much knowledge to impart and are a brilliant instructor. We all now know so much more about sherry, not least what a versatile drink it is. You have also acted as our guide to Andalusian food with all its treasures. (Tuna Sperm awaits tonight) From us all, a massive Thank You for all you did to make our short holiday so special . 
Kind regards Duncan, Jose, Ed. & Will.

Becky (10) and Nigel (45)

It was a pleasure to return to Annie B’s Spanish Kitchen, this time with my younger daughter.  We both enjoyed the sights and smells of the market in Barbate, together with informative visits to a whole range of specialist, traditional food suppliers. 
Working in the kitchen is always fun, even for a couple of relative novices, as the recipes are easy to follow and Annie’s extremely knowledgeable and well organised. She also helped with all our travel and accommodation arrangements, so we got a very warm welcome at Hotel V. 
Becky’s conclusion was that we had “the best day ever…”

Sarah Hughes – 04/06/2012

Just wanted to send a quick thank you for being such a lovely hostess. We
had a great time – all my bosses enjoyed it.

Paula Devlin, Bristol – 21/06/2012

Thank you for making my holiday in Vejer so enjoyable.  I really enjoyed the cooking, eating and drinking, learning about sherry and the local wines, your beautiful home and the company.
I have just made my first batch of the Moroccan marinade as my work colleagues are coming for lunch on Friday and want to hear all about it. One is a vegetarian and the recipes are so adaptable that the catering is easy.  I have the rings ready for the vegetable stacks! The weekend after I got home my daughter came from London so I cooked the tortilla,and it went down really well.
I’ve been hunting out the sherries and wines in all the local supermarkets. Tesco had a surprisingly good range of sherry and the Torres Vina Sol.
 I thought everything about the holiday and Vejer was just perfect – such a beautiful unspoiled area, the Califa and surrounding restaurants were so welcoming and I can’t wait to come back to do the the bodegas and maybe Seville.

Vicky Bramley, London

Thank you so much for a great day last week. We really enjoyed the cooking, eating the food, the wine, the sherry and your company. Vejer is beautiful and we hope to be back again soon.

Joel & Laurie, Chicago – 25/06/2013

“We had so much fun learning from you as well as working with Dan, Carolyn and Eva. Laurie even tried her hand at tortilla espanyol and while not as good as Pepe’s was mighty tasty. Next up is the melon gazpacho after I go to the wine shop to pick up some sherry.’’

Zoe Ouwehand, Tarifa – 21/09/2012

It was a great day, great organisation and recipes and setting – couldn’t have been better. I have done several cooking courses over the years, and often return having enjoyed them but somehow doubting I shall ever get round to doing any of the complicated recipes myself.  Today was quite different, and I look forward to doing some of the dishes on my return

Sue Naylor – 09/09/2012

THANK YOU for a wonderful day yesterday! 
Learnt a lot, loved the market and great meeting that group of girls to share it with.

Nick Sarra – 08/09/2012

I recently spent an evening cooking with you. I just wanted to thank you for this lovely experience which was utterly enjoyable and inspiring.

Tracy Kohler – 07/09/2012

I wanted to tell you how much we appreciated being in your company last night and today and having the benefit of your experiences, knowledge, passion and energy. We absolutely loved all you gave us and you certainly gave us more than we expected – it was incredible and something we’ll not forget for a long time! Thank you very much!

Liz McLaren, Glasgow – 01/12/2012

A group of us treated ourselves to wonderful day of shopping, chopping and cooking with Annie. We learnt huge amount on the local produce and historic background of the area and had such fun in the process. Our food was a lovely mixture of heavenly flavours and textures all washed down with many of the local sherries and wines in Annie’s gorgeous Andalucian home, what is not to like!
The Annie’s relaxed manner made us all feel very comfortable trying out her recipes for the first time. We happily recommend cooking with Annie, and were only sorry we didn’t have more time.

Johanna, The Hague

I stumbled across Annie B’s Spanish Kitchen in The Guardian’s review of ‘best family holidays’; I was looking for something different to do with my two children, who were 10 and 8 yrs. old at the time. We’re amateur cooks but serious foodies. On a previous holiday in Thailand, a day of cooking lessons was our favorite part of the trip, so I thought we were ready to upgrade to a full cooking course. We booked a week’s trip with 4 days of cooking in Annie’s kitchen, which left time for the beach, a day trip to Tangiers, and an outing to Andalusia’s regional Michelin star restaurant, Aponiente. Our time with Annie was beyond expectation. The cooking itself was fantastic (the fresh local foods, the Spanish and Moorish flavors, and the techniques we learned), and the varying daily program (trips to the local market, picking our own produce at an organic farm, tours of the local tapas bars) made each day a new adventure. The kids had plenty of time to dip into the pool and cool off while enjoying the treats we made. But above all, it was Annie who made this holiday one we’ll always remember. Annie is a warm and gracious host and a fascinating woman with stories to tell. We all loved our time with her and will definitely visit again. I recommend Annie B’s Kitchen to anyone who believes life improves with great food, wine and friendship.

Paul & Jane, UK

If you love food, good company, delicious wines & Sherries along with a really authentic taste of Spain then you will love Annie’s Spanish Kitchen.
A short flight from a cold rainy UK in March this year found us in the beautiful white hill town of Vejer. In Annie’s patio house on the hillside we met our fellow “cooks” – no matter if you have no experience or are a skilful cook you are guaranteed to enjoy yourself in her generous company. Learn to love a full range of sherry from Manzanilla to Pedro Ximenez, and amaze yourself with the results of your days cooking. Visits to the local markets to buy fresh fish, fruit and everything you need. Baking bream cased in salt, preserving lemons, marinating anchovies, and the luscious puds with PX sherry – you will be hooked. Most of all it is fun, personal and provides a stock of memories and recipes to take back home. On a cold November night – I’m ready to go back.

Fi Morley, Edinburgh

The main charm of the cooking course is the insight you give a visitor to the local culture and foods and wines. Your welcoming and patient personality and hospitality are also a big plus! The cooking itself worked well for me and I enjoyed the range of recipes that you offered and explained well. I’ve had a cooking afternoon making my Christmas Chutneys and Chilli Jams for pressies and finished off by preserving the lemons you gave me when I left! I plan to make the Oasis Tart at Christmas and who knows what else!

Kevin and Lyn Smyth, Dubai

Annie B’s Spanish Cooking School is a wonderful recipe for a holiday in the beautiful village of Vejer. Annie is a wonderful host and cooks brilliantly. She is also a “must have” tourist guide. The day starts with visits to the grocer, vegetable market, butcher or fishmonger, all of them an experience in themselves. Annie introduces you to Vejer as you wind your way through the white washed alleyways and you work off the pounds climbing and descending the many stairways. Annie’s home is your home and the day is spent happily sipping brown” tea,” sherry and fabulous wines all the while cooking up a feast. The evenings are spent sampling the delicious specialties of dozens of little restaurants and bars of Vejer. One wakes up wondering if it is all a dream. Picture a white washed village perched on a high hill piercing a royal blue sky and you when you wake up to realize it is all real and you can look forward to another exciting day with Annie.

Paul and Val Leeming, Aberdeenshire

Paul and I joined Annie on a Fruits of the Sea Day and thoroughly enjoyed the day, so much so that I now eat pickled anchovies – something I would never touch before! I have also used several of the recipes since our return to the UK – even giving an Andalucia Orange and Almond Cake as a birthday present. Thank you Annie – we will be back!

Kath & Gerry

Thank you Annie B. for our wonderful cooking day in Vejer. My sister and I had booked the day as a treat for ourselves and what a treat it turned out to be. A fantastic day with so many highs that it’s hard to pick out the best bits. Shopping was great fun. So many top tips on what to buy and the chance to share the warmth of the relationships that Annie has built up in this lovely town. The Tardis like experience of walking into Annie’s wonderful patio house. The magic aprons – You put one on and you are ready to cook anything. The quick rewards – It was no time before we were sipping manzanilla whilst we sampled our perfectly fried lemon spritzed anchovies. Trying different drinks and getting lots of advice on buying wine and Sherries locally and matching them to food. The variety and amount of the food we cooked. When we saw what was planned, five courses including ajo blanco, sea bream in a salt crust and an orange and almond cake, we couldn’t believe that we would get through it all. But we did and it was so much fun. The course was great value and would make an amazing present for anyone holidaying in the area. It was a lovely day to spend like us as sisters and would be great for a mother and daughter, partners or a larger group of family or friends. “Put it on your list of things to do before you diet”.

Sara, Seattle USA

My 16 year old daughter and I were fortunate enough to be able to take a morning cooking class from Annie B. I was so impressed by her organization, her charming, professional kitchen, the well-balanced, interesting menu, and with Annie’s teaching method. Simply, it was both fun and informative to cook with Annie who has many wonderful cooking tips, even for those of us who have done a fair amount of cooking before. My husband and 3 other children joined us for the great lunch we had prepared lunch around the pool! We all loved the Ajo Blanco – a first for us all! I’m already looking forward to going back and taking another class. Anna and I really had a blast!

Bill, Glasgow

Middle of October. Ten in the morning. Early day sunshine wrapping itself around white painted houses in the old part of Vejer and us, wrapped in Annie B’s aprons to provide similar comfort as we stared at mouth watering recipes and an array of fresh local Andalucían produce, feeling, and looking, a little apprehensive. Me, my two sons and son-in-law from rain soaked Glasgow were in paradise or certainly the next best thing outside Celtic Park. A little over four hours later and we had prepared a truly exciting meal which was served that evening, al fresco, to a satisfied family of 9, including 2 vegetarians. It was an entertaining, enlightened and enjoyable experience. Ably supported and prompted by Annie and Penny we successfully completed all of the cooking and baking. Chicken in Moroccan marinade; tapines (local courgettes) with feta & mint; potato, sundried tomato & lemon salad, orange & almond cake – a quarter of what we conjured up. We were served cool larger, sampled Sherries, took photos and left with copies of all the recipes. Hey! Four guys. Vejer. Sunshine. Annie B’s.

½ day cookery course. Wonderful food. And the women did the washing up! Magic.

Eleanor (15), London

Thank you so so much for an amazing week! We’ve all learnt so much and got so much more interested and excited by cooking. You are our ‘guru’! I feel I’ve missed something. How could I possibly have written my testimonial without mentioning my Amazing (though I say so myself) newly acquired squid gutting skills? Anyway, the point is that I am now a pro-squid gutter thanks to you. Thank You Annie.

Emma (16), London

Thank you so so much! Ate my first ever clams, Dorado and tuna steak and actually liked them! What can I say, your inspiring teaching will soon be immortalised in the form of ‘’Annie B’s Little Elves’’ – what higher praise could I give it?

Jazzy (16), London

Thank you so much for this fantabulistic week!! The fact that we are planning to form ’’Annie B’s Little Elves’,’ I think shows how much fun we have had! Hope to show you some of our new found cooking skills sometime soon. What a guru.

Like the sound of these reviews of Annie B’s Spanish Kitchen? Sign up to one of our courses and experience them for yourself.